Bush Tea for the Soul

A recent conversation left me with an upset spirit. I literally felt the need to vomit, to purge, to rapidly expel the poisonous particles from my mind and soul, to eradicate all traces of the venom deposited. And vomit I did. I ranted, oh how I ranted. About the injustices of division, the cancer of elitism, the gangrene of institutionalised classism, which, like cystic acne, interrupt the beauty that is humanity.

Thankfully, I make it a point to surround myself with good people, and a wise friend pointed me to this song, ‘Sólo le Pido a Dios’. If there was any good in that encounter, it was in the harsh jolt back to the imperfections of reality, a poignant reminder of the work to be done. Take a minute….Read the lyrics…Click play, close your eyes and take a deep breath…Then roll up your sleeves, and get your hands dirty.

Solo le pido a Dios  (Leon Greco)
I only ask of God

Sólo le pido a Dios                                                            I only ask of God
que el dolor no me sea indiferente,                          That i am not indifferent to the pain,
que la reseca muerte no me encuentre                   That the dry death won’t find me
vacío y solo, sin haber hecho lo suficiente.          Empty and alone, without having done the sufficient.

Sólo le pido a Dios                                                            I only ask of God
que lo injusto no me sea indiferente,                      That i won’t be indifferent to the injustice
que no me abofeteen la otra mejilla,                       That they won’t slap my other cheek,
después que una garra me arañó esta suerte.     After a claw (or talon) has scratched this destiny (luck) of mine.

Sólo le pido a Dios                                                           I only ask of God
que la guerra no me sea indiferente,                       That i am not indifferent to the battle,
es un monstruo grande y pisa fuerte                       It’s a big monster and it walks hardly on
toda la pobre inocencia de la gente.                        All the poor innocence of people.

Sólo le pido a Dios                                                            I only ask of God
que el engaño no me sea indiferente,                      That i am not indifferent to deceit,
si un traidor puede más que unos cuantos,          If a traitor can do more than a bunch of people,
que esos cuantos no lo olviden fácilmente.          Then let not those people forget him easily.

Sólo le pido a Dios                                                            I only ask of God
que el futuro no me sea indiferente,                       That i am not indifferent to the future,
desahuciado está el que tiene que marchar         Hopeless is he who has to go away
a vivir una cultura diferente.                                      To live a different culture.

Sólo le pido a Dios                                                           I only ask of God
que la guerra no me sea indiferente,                       That i am not indifferent to the battle,
es un monstruo grande y pisa fuerte                      It’s a big monster and it walks hardly on
toda la pobre inocencia de la gente.                       All the poor innocence of people.

Leave a Reply

